Advisory Council Members

The Advisory Council for the AEA program is an amazing group of young people from around the province. Their role is to provide input, feedback, to help us promote our projects, and to participate in the programs.

Advisors include:

  • Fahlon Smith, Vancouver
    Fahlon Smith is a Vancouver Island based multi-instrumentalist, music performer, and teacher. Exploring all genres and a variety of instruments, she focuses on playing the Zimbabwean marimba, viola, and voice; Fahlon composes and performs with ensembles such as Kumbana Marimba, Westerly, and others with whom she has played at numerous music festivals and events such as Squamish Valley Music Festival, Vancouver Island Music Festival, Rock the Peach, Islands Folk Fest, and many others. Offstage, Fahlon has been the booking manager of multiple bands, teaches music classes, and is often found at community programs and festivals as a faculty member or director. Since graduating from the University of Victoria with a Bachelor of Music Performance in 2016, Fahlon has won awards for her viola playing and performs with symphony orchestras in Kamloops, Vancouver Island, Prince George, and the Okanagan. In October, Fahlon is opening for Ontario musician David Francey.
  • Julian Legere, New Westminster
    Julian is a lifelong theatre rat who makes a nest in every studio and stage that is foolish enough to leave the doors unlocked and believes theatre can help us find the hope and humanity that stubbornly remain in every corner of this flawed, tragic, beautiful world. He obtained a Bachelor’s of Performing Arts from Capilano University and works around Vancouver as a freelance and independent producer, actor, director, stage manager, and writer. Favourite credits include Phantasmagoria: Circus of Dreams (Creator/Performer/Assistant Stage Manager) – Loose Leaf Collective/PuSh Festival), You Will Remember Me (Assistant Director – Ruby Slippers Theatre), The Importance of Being Earnest (Producer/Actor – A Bunch of Actors), A Shakespeariance – upcoming (Performer – Bard on the Beach Riotous Youth Ensemble). He’s also an arts educator, Youth Arts Programmer at the Massey Theatre, and a member of the Board of Directors of Royal Canadian Theatre Company.
  • Teresa Nelson, Vancouver
    Teresa is a multi-skilled, versatile and flexible entertainment industry administrator. In 2015 she completed the Advanced Arts and Entertainment Management Certificate Program at Capilano University and ever since she has been putting her arts management skills to work. In 2016, she launched the organization Into the Woods and has been assisting artists with tour planning, performance booking, grant writing, artist development and other administrative work. There are currently three very talented groups on her roster. Teresa has always been surrounded by music and the arts. Her background in Theatre and Film (Bachelor of Arts from the University of Winnipeg) means that she understands the creative world, and brings a creative perspective to her work.
  • Valentina Acevedo Montilla, Vancouver
    Valentina’s interests live in the borderland between art and history, curatorial studies and museology, anthropology and art. An arts organizer, writer, and curator in the making, she is a firm believer of the capacity that art has to generate change. Both Mexican and Venezuelan, she is committed to creating spaces that allow for collaborations to happen in the intersection between living on Coast Salish territories as an uninvited guest, and the responsibility she carries to her family and ancestors. You can find her working at the Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC or organizing monthly events for her art collective, Border/Lines.